The Interdisciplinary Center Psychopathology and Emotion regulation (ICPE)

Hanzeplein 1 - Entrance 24 (Triade building)
The Netherlands
PO box 30.001, Hospital mail address CC72
9700 RB Groningen
Tel: +31 (0) 50 36 18416/15551
Fax: +31 (0) 50 36 19722

The Interdisciplinary Center Psychopathology and Emotion regulation (ICPE) aims to perform high-quality research at the crossroads of various disciplines, including Psychiatry, Psychology, Epidemiology, Neurosciences, and Internal Medicine. The program focuses on common mental health problems, with a special emphasis on affective disorders. Main goals are to unravel psychobiological processes involved in the onset and course of affective disorders, and to develop and evaluate personalized interventions to improve mood-related problems and social-emotional functioning. Affective problems account for a large proportion of the burden of disease throughout the life span. Apart from being a cause of suffering on their own, they are also highly prevalent in a wide range of somatic and psychiatric disorders, and interfere with their course. Affective problems are often rooted in early life, with diverging expressions and consequences in subsequent phases of life. These characteristics render affective disorders particularly relevant for healthy ageing.

The interdisciplinary nature of the ICPE is reflected in both the research themes and the methods used. Large longitudinal epidemiological surveys (e.g., TRAILS, NESDA, LifeLines) are complemented with studies involving more, or more in-depth, measurements in smaller groups to elucidate underlying endophenotypes and temporal patterns. The study designs are both observational and experimental, and involve a variety of (neuro)psychological, social, and biological measures, including neuroimaging techniques.

The ICPE is part of the Research Institute SHARE.

ICPE program leader
Prof. dr. A.J. Oldehinkel (UMCG)

Senior researchers
Dr. J.A.C.J. Bastiaansen
Dr. S.H. Booij
Dr. E.H. Bos
Dr. L.F. Bringmann
Dr. M.W.G. van Dijk
Dr. C.A. Hartman
Prof. dr. P. de Jonge
Dr. B.F. Jeronimus
Dr. F. Jörg
Dr. H.M. van Loo
Prof. dr. J. Ormel
Prof. dr. R.C. Oude Voshaar
Dr. H. Riese
Dr. A.M. Roest
Prof. dr. J.G.M. Rosmalen
Dr. M. aan het Rot
Prof. dr. R.A. Schoevers
Prof. dr. M.C. Wichers
Dr. K.J. Wardenaar
Dr. J.T.W. Wardenaar-Wigman
Dr. M. Zuidersma

ICPE Publications
PubMed, 2009 - present